Snow Leopard, Reaper, MIDI, VST or AU?

Share your favourite Noatikl tips and tricks
LutherBlissett
antispam_a: cole
antispam_b: 9

Snow Leopard, Reaper, MIDI, VST or AU?

Postby LutherBlissett » Sun Aug 05, 2012 6:05 am

Hi there.
New user of Noatikl here (previously used Mixtikl on iPad).
I'm just wondering what the consensus is w/regard to sending MIDI in Reaper DAW.
Using VST I'm finding it only sends to the next synth in the FX list so I can't do multiple channels to different synths. I'm also getting frequent CTDs if i change parameters. The AU seems a bit less crashy and sending / receiving through IAC means I can send to many different synths and record them all separately on different channels.
Thought?

Umcorps
Platinum

Re: Snow Leopard, Reaper, MIDI, VST or AU?

Postby Umcorps » Sun Aug 05, 2012 6:33 am

Welcome!

I'm not a Reaper expert but as far as I know, the only way to get Noatikl VST or AU to work with multiple channels is to route the midi out from Reaper and bring it back in using a virtual midi port. So on OSX that would be either the IAC or MidiPipe.

There is a walk through of how to set this up in THIS thread

LutherBlissett

Postby LutherBlissett » Sun Aug 05, 2012 10:38 am

Thanks for the reply.
I was following the instructions for Reaper form the Noatikl guide (http://www.intermorphic.com/tools/noati ... ral_7.html) and the suggestions weren't working.
The IAC method makes sense. Any benefit to getting MIDI Pipe?
I think I have Jack OSX as well which can do routing Midi and Audio.

Umcorps
Platinum

Postby Umcorps » Sun Aug 05, 2012 11:11 am

LutherBlissett wrote:The IAC method makes sense. Any benefit to getting MIDI Pipe?

That depends what you need. The IAC does a basic job and has the advantage of being just part of the system. Whereas you have to remember to load MidiPipe before you start a session. So for basic routing the IAC is fine.