Generative Music 1 playback: Noatikl and Mixtikl comparison?

Important notices, general tips & info
Marty
antispam_a: cole
antispam_b: 9

Generative Music 1 playback: Noatikl and Mixtikl comparison?

Postby Marty » Wed Jun 10, 2009 3:35 am

I'm new to Intermorphic; but not to Koan, by way of Brian Eno's "Generative Music 1".

I'm interested in purchasing one of the Intermorphic tools for listening to GM1 once again, but I'm unclear about the difference between Noatikl and Mixtikl. I've read the descriptions of each, but still a bit puzzled. Would you shed some light?

Correct playback of GM1 required either the TDK MusicCard, SB32 or AWE32 sound card (which I still have!) all were ISA bus. I believe these cards were required for their unique synth.

So the question is: are either Noatikl or Mixtikl capable of emulating the synth of these cards? If not, any suggestions (short of firing up an old steam-powered ISA bus PC)?

Thanks for your time.

Regards,

-- Marty

impete
Site Admin
antispam_b: 2

Re: Generative Music 1 playback: Noatikl and Mixtikl comparison?

Postby impete » Thu Jun 11, 2009 7:21 am

Hi Marty!

I'm new to Intermorphic; but not to Koan, by way of Brian Eno's "Generative Music 1".

I'm interested in purchasing one of the Intermorphic tools for listening to GM1 once again, but I'm unclear about the difference between Noatikl and Mixtikl. I've read the descriptions of each, but still a bit puzzled. Would you shed some light?

I'll try! :)

Correct playback of GM1 required either the TDK MusicCard, SB32 or AWE32 sound card (which I still have!) all were ISA bus. I believe these cards were required for their unique synth.

So the question is: are either Noatikl or Mixtikl capable of emulating the synth of these cards? If not, any suggestions (short of firing up an old steam-powered ISA bus PC)?

Thanks for your time.