Noatikl IOS weird behaviour

Generative Music Composer
animal
Gold
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 6:22 pm
antispam_a: cole
antispam_b: 9
Contact:

Noatikl IOS weird behaviour

Postby animal » Wed Feb 26, 2014 6:33 pm

Hi there,
I found this weird thing happening, when using Noatikl in Audiobus:
When playing through a looping effect, which normally holds the once looped fragment continuously, then stop Noatikl, the sound goes off rightaway (the looper stops, which it should't do and doesn't do with whatever else App I use).
This is sad. Does anybody have an idea what's going on here, and how to fix it?
I would really like to go on using Noatikl in my setup (installations/live improvisations), but sometimes need to use an ongoing looper to bridge my soundchanges... .
Besides: this is a great little jewel, thanks for creating and maintaining it!!!

imtim
Site Admin
Posts: 1018
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
antispam_b: 2
Contact:

Re: Noatikl IOS weird behaviour

Postby imtim » Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:42 pm

Hi!

Could you let us know specific apps that are being used and also a step by step use case of how you are using them, and also exactly what you want to happen ?

Without knowing that (and possibly being able to replicate it!) it is going to be tricky to get to the bottom of!

Glad to hear you are othewise enjoying Noatikl. What kind live work are you using it for?

atb

tim

animal
Gold
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 6:22 pm
antispam_a: cole
antispam_b: 9
Contact:

Re: Noatikl IOS weird behaviour

Postby animal » Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:09 am

Hi Tim,
My setup is as follows:
Noatikl as input, Turnado as Effect, Auria as Output (all in Audiobus, the checkbox for Audiobus in Noatikl is checked). I started with a simple Ambient sound (veery long piece-time, veery slow tempo, mutations, also rhythmic, after 1beat, simple pattern), which gets messed with in Turnado (mostly Filters) and Saturn in Auria. All is fine and gives me the desired result, but when I turn on a looper in Turnado ( which should repeat the "grabbed" piece of audio as long as the looper is turned on), and then stop the playing in Noatikl, the sound goes off, no more looping. Noatikl is the only App I noticed this behaviour with (I also play with Loopy, TC-11, Stria, Different Drummer, and more), so it seems to be an issue with Noatikl...? Somehow the Turnado looper has no more audio to mangle with, while I guess it should go on with the "buffered sound" it just had come in. So I was hoping there's something to fix in Noatikl to not cut the audio completely, sotosay...?, because, as I said before, this only happens with Noatikl inputting sound.
My devices are Ipad4 and iPadAir, which both show the same behaviour.
I do electroacoustic Improvisations in a specialised quadrophonic surround setup, also for artshow openings (am a painter myself by profession), where the spatial sound-drifts are constructed not through volume-changes (as is the usual approach to "panning"), but through Frequency-shifting across different areas of the speaker-set-up.
Thanks for your response, and your interest, I do hope I gave you all the relevant informations for understanding the issue.
And, as stated before: I am veeeery happy with Noatikl already!, great work!,
cheers

imtim
Site Admin
Posts: 1018
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
antispam_b: 2
Contact:

Re: Noatikl IOS weird behaviour

Postby imtim » Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:03 am

Hi again, and thanks for that which helps.

Pete is currently maxxed out on something but he will try to look at this when he can!

atb, tim


Return to “Noatikl”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest