energy xt 2

Generative Music Creator
Post Reply
spidergod
Platinum
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 12:05 pm

energy xt 2

Post by spidergod » Mon Dec 22, 2008 11:48 am

Hello

Has anyone got a guide on how to get noatikl working with energy xt2?

thanks

Atonal
Platinum
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 3:27 am

Re: energy xt 2

Post by Atonal » Mon Dec 22, 2008 4:10 pm

That would be a nice, powerful combination. I used to use Energy many years ago when it was first developed. At that time, it was very brittle and constantly required dialog with the developer. Now, it appears a more refined and expanded package, although I have not used it for about 3 years ...

That software platform, however, would be dynamite if it were attached to Noatikl ...

good luck,

-- atonal

spidergod
Platinum
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 12:05 pm

Re: energy xt 2

Post by spidergod » Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:36 pm

nearly got it working, but xt2 is such a messy interface :(

Atonal
Platinum
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 3:27 am

Re: energy xt 2

Post by Atonal » Mon Dec 22, 2008 11:08 pm

messy interface and 'brittle' work flow ...

-- atonal

Bagatell
Bronze
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:27 am
antispam_b: 2
Location: Sierra Nevada, Spain

Re: energy xt 2

Post by Bagatell » Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:18 am

I don´t think I have ever closed energyXT down myself - it always crashes on me!

tromal
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:56 pm
antispam_a: cole
antispam_b: 9

Re: energy xt 2

Post by tromal » Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:51 am

Working fine here. Just send the midi out of Noatikl (VST) to a VST synth and click on record, voilà ! I'm using camelon5000 as the synth. Great...

André Couturier

impete
Site Admin
Posts: 2340
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 1:30 pm
antispam_b: 2
Location: intermorphic Towers

Re: energy xt 2

Post by impete » Wed Aug 19, 2009 8:47 pm

Feel free to post-up an example recording. :-)

Best wishes,

Pete

DarkStar
Platinum
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 3:26 pm
antispam_b: 2
Location: Surrey, UK

A step-by-step guide for recording noatikl in XT2:

Post by DarkStar » Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:55 pm

-- create two Sequencers, name one "Player" and the other "Recorder"
-- dock both Sequencers onto the same Docker page and arrange the windows
-- in "Player", create an Instrument track and add noatikl
-- drag the MIDI Channel for the track down to " " (to keep the channels defined in noatikl)
-- in "Recorder", create an Instrument track
-- route the MIDI from noatikl to "Recorder" (use the Modular view)

Image
Big pic:
http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/4188/noxt201.png

Image
Big pic:
http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/7965/noxt203.png

-- set up your composition in noatikl
-- turn off looping in XT2
-- click the Record button, and Stop when you want

Image
Big pic:
http://img683.imageshack.us/img683/8089/noxt204.png

Note:
-- oddly, I get occasional MIDI notes with big negative lengths in the recording, I just whack them
Image
Big pic:
http://img683.imageshack.us/img683/4342 ... gnotes.png

HTH

spidergod
Platinum
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 12:05 pm

Re: energy xt 2

Post by spidergod » Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:44 pm

Thanks

Will try that out as well as the reaper info.

cheers

imtim
Site Admin
Posts: 1085
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
antispam_b: 2
Contact:

Re: energy xt 2

Post by imtim » Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:13 am

Thanks for helping Darkstar!!!

Post Reply