Random feature messed up

Tell us what doesn't work as it should
Toasted ghost
Bronze
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:28 pm
antispam_a: cole
antispam_b: 9

Random feature messed up

Postby Toasted ghost » Mon Jan 18, 2016 8:42 am

Downloaded the latest update which was meant to cure mic problem - Mic still a problem but now the random feature is not so random. Now the random feature creates a block of 4 cells 3 rows deep, each cell is full of instruments and loop is on for all cells. There are no empty cells in the first 3 rows. I loved the random feature and now it is virtually un-usable.
I use a iMac with El captain 10.11.2.

I would love to go back to the old version before update but no Time Machine was in place.
Any help would be much appreciated.

thanks

imtim
Site Admin
Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
antispam_b: 2
Contact:

Re: Random feature messed up

Postby imtim » Mon Jan 18, 2016 10:23 am

Hi

What we changed was the default settings for the Random feature, not the Random feature itself.

We changed these because the new content takes more processor cycles to generate as it is in stereo and it mostly uses more advanced sound networks. Having a lot of it in a mix can mean too much for a mobile device processor to do (especially older devices). Also, you need less of it in a mix to sound good!

It is very easy to customise the Randomise settings to suit your own requirements.

Go into Menu > New > Settings and change what you want. These settings determine happens when you use the randomise feature for creating new mixes.

So, it sounds like you would want to uncheck "Cells Loop" and increase the "Tracks" and "Blank" values for example.

Hope that helps!

Toasted ghost
Bronze
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:28 pm
antispam_a: cole
antispam_b: 9

Re: Random feature messed up

Postby Toasted ghost » Mon Jan 18, 2016 1:16 pm

Hmm yes makes a difference, however the cells still seemed to contain a better mix with more empty cells.
Thanks for speedy response

Mic still however not working
cheers again

imtim
Site Admin
Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
antispam_b: 2
Contact:

Re: Random feature messed up

Postby imtim » Mon Jan 18, 2016 1:28 pm

Toasted ghost wrote:however the cells still seemed to contain a better mix with more empty cells.


This also depends on which / how many paks you have selected in the New screen.... Each pak you check is a pak that can be selected from....

Toasted ghost wrote:Thanks for speedy response


Glad to help...

Toasted ghost wrote:Mic still however not working


We tested this fix very carefully. How is it not working for you? Could you please provide specifics?

Toasted ghost
Bronze
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:28 pm
antispam_a: cole
antispam_b: 9

Re: Random feature messed up

Postby Toasted ghost » Mon Jan 18, 2016 1:39 pm

The mic at first appears to record but I am left with an empty wav file... strange

El Captain iMac Mivtikl7 updated

Thanks

imtim
Site Admin
Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
antispam_b: 2
Contact:

Re: Random feature messed up

Postby imtim » Mon Jan 18, 2016 1:45 pm

Toasted ghost wrote:The mic at first appears to record but I am left with an empty wav file... strange
El Captain iMac Mivtikl7 updated


I have just double checked Mixtikl 7.0.1 Mic recording OS X El Capitan, and it worked fine for me. What are your Mixtikl input settings? Mixtikl > Options > Input devices? What are your Mic Recording settings? Mixtikl > Mic Recording > Settings? Is your IMac mic muted maybe? There are a lot of things it could be... hth!

Toasted ghost
Bronze
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:28 pm
antispam_a: cole
antispam_b: 9

Re: Random feature messed up

Postby Toasted ghost » Mon Jan 18, 2016 2:32 pm

Input internal mic though I have also used external mic from usb phones
Output either built-in output or usb headphones
My mixtikl say 7 and I have updated it
should it read 7.1?

Toasted ghost
Bronze
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:28 pm
antispam_a: cole
antispam_b: 9

Re: Random feature messed up

Postby Toasted ghost » Mon Jan 18, 2016 2:34 pm

Sorry 7.0.1

imtim
Site Admin
Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
antispam_b: 2
Contact:

Re: Random feature messed up

Postby imtim » Mon Jan 18, 2016 2:39 pm

Toasted ghost wrote:Sorry 7.0.1


Hmm. Odd. I am using internal mic and it records fine and the recording plays back fine...

Thought: Are you finding the recording is not playing in the content cell, or in the recording playlist (Menu > Rec/Preview button which takes you to http://intermorphic.com/mixtikl/guide/#recording)? Could you please try via the latter and see if it plays there?

Toasted ghost
Bronze
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:28 pm
antispam_a: cole
antispam_b: 9

Re: Random feature messed up

Postby Toasted ghost » Mon Jan 18, 2016 2:46 pm

After much experimentation I found I can now record mic!
YEAH!

Thanks

imtim
Site Admin
Posts: 998
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:53 pm
antispam_b: 2
Contact:

Re: Random feature messed up

Postby imtim » Mon Jan 18, 2016 4:46 pm

Toasted ghost wrote:After much experimentation I found I can now record mic!
YEAH!


Great! :)

NB: If anyone else has the same issue, it would be useful you could share what it was that was causing your issue (if you were able to determine that).


Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest