Ipad and Wotja with rtpMIDI

Generative Music Creator, Mixer & Player System
Post Reply
spidergod
Platinum
Posts: 302
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 12:05 pm

Ipad and Wotja with rtpMIDI

Post by spidergod » Thu May 03, 2018 9:40 am

Hello
Just wondering if anyone uses wotja on an Ipad with the latest version of the IOS (11.3?) and can they get rtpMIDI to see the Ipad?

I have downloaded the free version of wotja on my Ipad for testing purposes, I was also going to test the Midi Out to see if it could run vsts via ableton on my windows machine.

I have ticked core midi and virtual midi on the output settings, yet rtpMIDI is just not seeing my Ipad when I click on play on an album track.

I am not sure if it is an IOS issue, a wotja issue or a rtpMIDI issue?

Has anyone got any ideas or advice or any other testing methods I could try?

Thanks

Umcorps
Platinum
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:41 pm
antispam_a: cole
antispam_b: 9
Location: Directly above the centre of the earth
Contact:

Re: Ipad and Wotja with rtpMIDI

Post by Umcorps » Fri May 04, 2018 9:03 am

I *think* you need to have Bonjour network protocol installed and active on the Windows machine for rtpMidi to work properly.

Not sure if that applies to more recent Windows versions - its been a long time since I went there.

http://www.tobias-erichsen.de/software/ ... orial.html

impete
Site Admin
Posts: 2342
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 1:30 pm
antispam_b: 2
Location: intermorphic Towers

Re: Ipad and Wotja with rtpMIDI

Post by impete » Fri May 04, 2018 1:18 pm

Thanks Mark!!

Spidergod - can you please let us know what you find out?

Best wishes,

Pete

spidergod
Platinum
Posts: 302
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 12:05 pm

Re: Ipad and Wotja with rtpMIDI

Post by spidergod » Thu May 10, 2018 10:26 am

Hello
Sorry I did not get back sooner, it is all working now.
I had to load up sampletank LE on the Ipad before rtpMIDI saw the Ipad connection, I then connected to the device and all is working now between my Ipad and Windows Machine.

Not sure why rtpMIDI did not see my Ipad just with Wotja loaded and Virtual Midi ticked (Core Midi was also ticked for Midi Out).

Thanks

Post Reply